top of page
  • Pratt Institute

Writing by Amanda Rios, Art by Reena Wu

Updated: Feb 15, 2021

Jade charms are a calming object, one I have rarely used in my life. Its two heart stones, tied together in a red string of fate, feel cool in my hands. It's a good luck talisman, of sorts, and it’s very easy to use. Rub the two hearts together whenever anxiety comes your way. The icy chill of the hearts will bring you down to Earth.


At least, that’s what I’ve been told. The charm eternally hangs by a magnet on my desk wall, never knowing freedom, like Prometheus chained to the rock. I suppose it sends me good vibes from its station above the scratched desk below. That and academic wisdom. Probably the latter more so than the former. 


How so? Rub the two hearts together and voila! The confidence to finish all of your projects is there. It also works for inspiration, too. Writer’s block becomes non-existent with the charm. 


I don’t know how long I’ll be using it, maybe forever. It's a soothing sight for sore eyes, especially if those eyes haven’t slept all night. Like a close friend, it gives me comfort when I need it, by simply just being there.


Sometimes, all you need is an inanimate object to give you strength from afar.




34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page